KMG Gradings

Is there a grading system?

Krav Maga gradings are unique amongst fighting systems, it does not have a belt structure that you will find in traditional martial arts. Instead the Krav Maga grading system is divided into 4 categories; Practitioner, Graduate, Expert and Master. Within each category there are separate levels of merit as described below.

How does it work?

The Krav Maga grading system is designed to allow you systematically develop the necessary skills to defend yourself & your loved ones. The lower grades include more striking skills & general principles, while higher grades include more specific self defence techniques.

KMG Ireland students after a successful grading.

Practitioner Level

This is the first level of grades for student members. There are 5 grades from P1-P5. Students will generally grade 1 – 2 times per year at P-level with at least every second grade being carried out by a member of the KMG Global & International team to ensure the standard in KMG Ireland remains at the highest possible level. The Practitioner’s grading patch is orange with black bars.

Graduate Level

Graduate level students are high level students as well as Krav Maga instructors who have completed all the P-level gradings. This level will generally take 3 – 5 years to achieve.  Graduate level students will generally grade one time per year. Graduate’s grading patches are dark blue with silver bars.

Expert Level

Expert levels are high level instructors who have completed the previous P & G level grades. Expert Level 1 will generally take a minimum of 7 years to achieve. To advance as an expert level in KMG, instructors must complete a number of training courses in areas such as Combat & Mindset, law-enforcement & military instructor training. Expert’s grading patches are black with gold bars.

There are also Military and Law Enforcement Level instructors (not shown).